7 Ways to Beat the Blues

seven

It’s been one of those days. Or maybe weeks (or for some of us, one of those years!)

I feel BLAH. There’s really no other way to explain it. The weather is gloomy, the apartment is a mess, there is a ton of stuff to do but I have ZERO energy to do it. This funk has really got me down! This tends to happen when I procrastinate and when I’m unorganized. Often when I have these days I have to find a way to snap out of it or else they day is finished before it even begins.

So how do I snap out of it? Here’s a few ways to beat the blues!

  1. Make a list. Any list. Write down everything that’s bothering you, or everything that’s circling your brain. No order, no category, just write. Getting it all down on paper helps me prioritize and time manage my day. I keep a notebook or a printable brain drain by my bed so at night or in the morning I can write down all my thoughts and get them out of my head.  It’s not hard, just try it! Don’t expect to get all your to-do’s done today. Just get them down on paper. By having them in front of you, you have at least made a step toward getting some of them done, right?  Try it!
  2. Take a shower. I’m a morning shower girl, because it wakes me up and makes me feel ready for the day. Think of the water “washing away your troubles” ey?
  3. Set a timer. Have some chores that need to get done? Set the timer for 15 minutes and get as much done as possible! Then after 15 minutes quit and find something else to do. Or reward yourself and set a timer to scroll through Pinterest or Instagram for 15 minutes. Alternating increments of 15 minutes of work and play are sometimes the only way I get things done – but HEY I get things DONE right?
  4. Pour yourself some coffee or tea. Caffeine is an obvious choice for us busy-bees. It’s not just the caffeine I like though, it’s the warmth and the mini-break I get while drinking it. It’s soothing to me, and a good way to slow down and just take some time to settle my thoughts. Obviously you need to be careful when consuming caffeine, know your limits! I try my best to drink Fair Trade coffee or tea when I can. If you live near St. Louis… Plowsharing Crafts has a wonderful selection of coffee beans!
  5. Go for a walk. Endorphins! Even a brisk 5 minute walk will get those wonderful little guys flowing through your body. Even if it’s nasty outside, go get some fresh air and when you get back in you’ll be happy to be inside.
  6. Put on some feel good music. My go to Spotify stations are John Mayer, Spin Doctors, and Coldplay. Dance music is always good too.
  7. Call a friend. Even if you’re not a talker, sometimes just having someone listen to your thoughts can brighten your situation. I usually feel that face-to-face conversation is best but when you have resources like Facetime you might as well use it if it helps! Maybe you don’t want to talk about your problems… ask your friend how they are doing! Listening can also be cathartic!

So – that’s just a small list of things that help me get my motivation kick-started. They don’t ALWAYS work, but they are a good place to start.

What do you do to get yourself together and going? Like and Comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

